College of Engineering / Alabama Microelectronics Science and Technology Center / About / Timeline


  • 1974: Electrical and Computer Engineering Microelectronics Laboratory was established by David (“Dave”) Irwin, professor and department head emeritus
  • 1984: The Alabama Microelectronics Science and Technology Center was formed with Richard (“Dick”) C. Jaeger as the founding Director, having direct appropriation from the state of Alabama
  • 2000: John D. Cressler appointed as director
  • 2001: Guofu Niu appointed as director
  • 2005: Bogdan (“Dan”) Wilamowski appointed as director
  • 2006: The center’s name changes to the Alabama Micro/Nano Science and Technology Center
  • 2011: New class 10 nanofabrication facilities finished in the Woltosz Engineering Research Laboratory
  • 2016: Michael (“Mike”) C. Hamilton appointed as director