[ Home | Research | Teaching | Publications | Professional Service
Shiwen Mao received B.E. and M.E. from Tsinghua University, Beijing, P.R. China in 1994 and 1997, respectively, both in Electronic Engineering.  He also received B.Ec. in Business Management from Tsinghua University in 1994 and M.S. in System Engineering from Polytechnic University (now New York University Polytechnic School of Engineering), Brooklyn, NY, in 2000.  He received Ph.D. in Electrical and Computer Engineering from Polytechnic University in 2004.

He was a research staff member with IBM China Research Lab from 1997 to 1998. From 2003 to 2006, he was a Postdoctoral Research Associate and then a Research Scientist in the Bradley Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (Virginia Tech), Blacksburg, VA. He joined Auburn University, Auburn, AL as an Assistant Professor in 2006, got tenured and promoted to the rank of Associate Professor in 2011, has been the McWane Associate Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering since 2012, and got early promotion to Full Professor in Feb. 2015.

Dr. Mao's research interests include wireless networks and multimedia communications, with current focus on cognitive radio networks, small cells, 5th generation mobile networks, free space optical networks, and smart grid. He is a Distinguished Lecturer of IEEE Vehicular Technology Society—Class 2014. He was a co-recipient of the IEEE WCNC 2015 Best Paper Award and the IEEE ICC 2013 Best Paper Award. He received the 2013 IEEE ComSoc MMTC Outstanding Leadership Award and was named 2012 Exemplary Editor of IEEE Communications Surveys & Tutorials. He was awarded the McWane Endowed Professor in the Samuel Ginn College of Engineering for the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Auburn University in 2012. He received Auburn Alumni Engineering Council Research Awards for Excellence—Senior Award in 2015 and Junior Award in 2011, three Auburn Author Awards from Auburn University Libraries and the Graduate School in 2015 and 2011, and National Science Foundation Faculty Early Carer Development (CAREER) Award in 2010.  He was a co-recipient of the 2004 IEEE Communications Society Leonard G. Abraham Prize in the Field of Communications Systems.  He is on the Editorial Board of IEEE Transactions on Multimedia, IEEE Internet of Things Journal, IEEE Communications Surveys & Tutorials, Elsevier Ad Hoc Networks Journal, and Wiley International Journal of Communication Systems. He is a member of Tau Beta Pi, Eta Kappa Nu, a Senior Member of the IEEE (Communications Society and Vehicular Technology Society), and a member of ASEE

Last Updated: May 13, 2015