Call for Papers

2009 Summer Computer Simulation Conference (SCSC’09)

July 13-16, 2009, Istanbul, Turkey

Grand Cevahir Hotel and Convention Center

Istanbul, Turkey



General Chair

Levent Yilmaz

Auburn University, USA


Program Chairs

Osman Balci

Virginia Tech, USA


Xiaolin Hu

Georgia State University, USA


Maarten Sierhuis



Sponsored by

The Society for Modeling

and Simulation International

P.O. Box 17900

San Diego, CA 92177-7900

Tel: 858-277-3888

Fax: 858-277-3930

















Submission of papers: March 31, 2009

Notification of Acceptance: April 30, 2009

Final Submission:  May 31, 2009



The 2009 Summer Computer Simulation Conference (SCSC’09) is a premier international forum and annual conference sponsored by The Society for Modeling and Simulation International which covers state-of-the-art developments in computer simulation methodologies, technologies, as well as scientific, industrial, and business applications.


SCSC’09 features a comprehensive program ranging from introductory tutorials to state of the art research and practice. SCSC’09 includes keynote speeches presented by technology and industry leaders, technical sessions, professional development courses and seminars, poster presentations; as well as vendor exhibits. Papers and proposals for panels, tutorials, workshops, seminars, exhibits, other technical are solicited. All contributed papers will be peer reviewed.  Papers should be submitted electronically to Final version of all the papers should comply with the SCS conference format. The best contributed paper will be given an award sponsored by ACM SIGSIM. A selected group of full papers will be published in the special issue of the  Simulation Journal.



The list of topics include



M&S Methodologies


Agent Directed Simulation

Cellular Automata


Distributed Interactive Simulation

Experimental Design

High Level Architecture

Human Behavior Representation

Human Factors

M&S Languages

Parallel and Distributed M&S

Real Time Systems M&S

Simulation Life-Cycle Evolution

Simulation Software Engineering

System Dynamics Representation

Verification & Validation

Virtual Reality

Visualization, Graphics and Animation

Web-based Architectures

System Dynamics




Industry & Business Applications


Collaboration Environments

Simulation-based Acquisition

Economics of Modeling & Simulation


Information Systems

Infrastructure Planning Communications & Media


Management Science

Process Engineering




Marine Applications

Materials Modeling and Simulation

Robotics and Autonomy

Security and Emergency Planning

Synthetic Environments

Training Simulators






M&S Applications


Adaptive Systems


Artificial Life

Artificial Neural Networks



Crowds and Evacuation

Data Fusion

Embedded Systems

Emergency Management

New Product Development

Complexity, Complex Systems

Ecology and Environment

Electro-Mechanical Systems


Geophysical Systems

Homeland Security

Medical Imaging

Military Systems

Queueing Systems

Transportation and Traffic

Current List of Workshops:


Agent-directed Simulation

Chairs:  Tuncer Ören, SITE, University of Ottawa (Canada);   Levent Yilmaz, Auburn University (USA).




Applications in Business, Management, Planning & Logistics

Chair: Agostino Bruzzone, University of Genoa (Italy).




Bioinformatics / Biology

Chair:  Isaac Barjis, New York City College of Technology (USA)



Computer Graphics for Simulation

Chair:  John F. Richardson, SPAWAR Systems Center, PACIFIC (USA)




Emergency Simulation

Chair: Francesco Longo, University of Calabria (Italy)



Engineering and Management in the M&S Discipline


Andreas Tolk, Old Dominion University, USA

Resit Unal, Old Dominion University, USA



International Program Committee



Isaac Barjis, New York City College of Technology, USA

Yaman Barlas, Bogazici University, Turkey

Agostino Bruzzone, Liophant Simulation Club, Italy

Paul Davis, RAND, USA

Terry Ericsen, ONR, USA

Virginia Dignum, University of Utrecht, Netherlands

Umut Durak, Tubitak, Turkey

Akif Eyler, Marmara University, Turkey

Claudia Frydman, LSIS, France

Norbert Giambiasi, LSIS, France

Carsten Gremzow, Technical University, Berlin, Germany

Andreas Jávor, Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Hungary

Ali Riza Kaylan, Bogazici University, Turkey

Peter Kropf, University of Neuchâtel, Switzerland

Francesco Longo, University of Calabria, Italy

Lewis Ntaimo, Texas A&M University, USA

Saurabh Mittal, Dunip technologies, India

Alexandre Muzy, University of Corsica, France

Halit Oguztuzun, METU, Turkey

John F. Richardson, SPAWAR Systems Center, USA

Joseph M. Rosen, Dartmouth College, USA

Hessam Sarjoughian, Arizona State University, USA

Jeff Smith, Auburn University, USA

Simon Taylor, Brunel University, UK

Andreas Tolk, Old Dominion University, USA

Dietmar Tutsch, Technical University, Berlin. Germany

Resit Unal, Old Dominion University, USA

Gabriel Wainer, Carleton University, Canada

Edward Williams, University of Michigan, USA

Yiping Yao, National University of Defense Technology, China

Sule Yildirim, Hedmark University College, Norway

Ming Zhang, University of Ottawa, Canada

Yu Zhang, Trinity University, USA