ELEC 7830 Photovoltaics Class Website

 

 

Class Syllabus: http://www.eng.auburn.edu/~deanron/Ph_Syllabus.pdf

 

Preliminary Course Content: http://www.eng.auburn.edu/~deanron/Ph_Course_Content.pdf

 

 

Wednesday, Jan 13, 2016 Lecture Notes: http://www.eng.auburn.edu/~deanron/Lecture_11316.pdf

Friday, Jan 15, 2016 Lecture Notes: http://www.eng.auburn.edu/~deanron/Lecture_11516.pdf

Monday, Jan 18, 2016 Lecture Notes: MLK Holiday

Wednesday, Jan 20, 2016 Lecture Notes: http://www.eng.auburn.edu/~deanron/Lecture_12016.pdf

Friday, Jan 22, 2016 Lecture Notes: http://www.eng.auburn.edu/~deanron/Lecture_12216.pdf

Monday, Jan 25, 2016 Lecture Notes: http://www.eng.auburn.edu/~deanron/Lecture_12516.pdf

Wednesday, Jan 20, 2016 Lecture Notes: No Class

Friday, Jan 29, 2016 Lecture Notes: http://www.eng.auburn.edu/~deanron/Lecture_12916.pdf

Monday, Feb 1, 2016 Lecture Notes: http://www.eng.auburn.edu/~deanron/Lecture_20116.pdf

Wednesday, Feb 3, 2016 Lecture Notes: http://www.eng.auburn.edu/~deanron/Lecture_20316.pdf

Friday, Feb 5, 2016 Lecture Notes: http://www.eng.auburn.edu/~deanron/Lecture_20516.pdf

Monday, Feb 8, 2016 Lecture Notes: http://www.eng.auburn.edu/~deanron/Lecture_20816.pdf

Wednesday, Feb 10, 2016 Lecture Notes: http://www.eng.auburn.edu/~deanron/Lecture_21016.pdf

Friday, Feb 12, 2016 Lecture Notes: http://www.eng.auburn.edu/~deanron/Lecture_21216.pdf

Monday, Feb 16, 2016 Lecture Notes: http://www.eng.auburn.edu/~deanron/Lecture_21516.pdf

Wednesday, Feb 17, 2016 Lecture Notes: http://www.eng.auburn.edu/~deanron/Lecture_21716.pdf

Friday, Feb 19, 2016 Lecture Notes: http://www.eng.auburn.edu/~deanron/Lecture_21916.pdf

Monday, Feb 22, 2016 Lecture Notes: http://www.eng.auburn.edu/~deanron/Lecture_22216.pdf

Wednesday, Feb 24, 2016 Lecture Notes: http://www.eng.auburn.edu/~deanron/Lecture_22416.pdf

Friday, Feb 26, 2016 Lecture Notes: No Class, E-Day

Monday, Feb 29, 2016 Lecture Notes: http://www.eng.auburn.edu/~deanron/Lecture_22916.pdf

Wednesday, Mar 2, 2016 Lecture Notes: http://www.eng.auburn.edu/~deanron/Lecture_30216.pdf

Friday, Mar 4, 2016 Lecture Notes: http://www.eng.auburn.edu/~deanron/Lecture_30416.pdf

Monday, Mar 7, 2016 Lecture Notes: http://www.eng.auburn.edu/~deanron/Lecture_30716.pdf

Wednesday, Mar 9, 2016 Lecture Notes: http://www.eng.auburn.edu/~deanron/Lecture_30916.pdf

Friday, Mar 11, 2016 Lecture Notes: No Class, professor travel

Monday, Mar 14, 2016 Lecture Notes: No Class, Spring Break

Wednesday, Mar 16, 2016 Lecture Notes: No Class, Spring Break

Friday, Mar 18, 2016 Lecture Notes: No Class, Spring Break

Monday, Mar 21, 2016 Lecture Notes: http://www.eng.auburn.edu/~deanron/Lecture_32116.pdf

Wednesday, Mar 23, 2016 Lecture Notes: http://www.eng.auburn.edu/~deanron/Lecture_32316.pdf

Friday, Mar 25, 2016 Lecture Notes: http://www.eng.auburn.edu/~deanron/Lecture_32516.pdf

Monday, Mar 28, 2016 Lecture Notes: http://www.eng.auburn.edu/~deanron/Lecture_32816.pdf

Wednesday, Mar 30, 2016 Lecture Notes: http://www.eng.auburn.edu/~deanron/Lecture_33016.pdf

 

Proceedings of the class: http://www.eng.auburn.edu/~deanron/2016PVProceedings.pdf

 

Class Presentation Schedule

Date                                                                                        Presenters                 

Friday 4/1                                                                    R. Chen and A. Foote

Monday 4/4                                                                 D. Gardner and H. Harrell

Wednesday 4/6                                                           C. Harrison and T. Huang

Friday 4/8                                                                    Y. Kaveti and W. King

Monday 4/11                                                               C. Liu and Y. Liu

Wednesday 4/13                                                         B. Lu and G. Motunde

Friday 4/15                                                                  C. Prather and E. Su

Monday 4/18                                                               S. Uprety and A. Mohammadi

Wednesday 4/20                                                         K. Vincent and W. Wang

Friday 4/22                                                                  F. Werner and C. Yang

Monday 4/25                                                               X. Yang and K. Yu

Wednesday 4/27                                                         D. Zhang and Z. Zhou

Friday 4/29                                                                  as needed or PV house tour

 

 

Class Presentation Topics

Student

Topic

Cheng, Ran

Photovoltaic Technologies

Foote, Andrew P

Grid integration and problems

Gardner, Steven Daniel

Near earth orbit (NEO) satellite photovoltaic array condition

Harrell, Haley Kay

space applications topic

Harrison, Remington C

Rechargeable batteries and systems for PV applications

Huang, Tiancheng

Power electronics for PV for AC grid

Kaveti, Yatish

Power Electronics and control of tracking system  in PV systems

King, William Ryan

Grid integration laws and policies

Liu, Ce

Technologies for integrating PV to the power grid

Liu, Yumeng

Economics of photovoltaic systems

Lu, Bonian

Photovoltaics for hybrid systems

Motunde, Gabriel Samuel

Integrating PV to the power grid outside the USA

Prather, Johnathon Craig

Economics of a personal PV system

Su, Eryu

Photovoltaics in China

Uprety, Sunil

Photovoltaic systems and/or applications

Vahid Mohammadi, Armin

Multi-junction Solar Cells and Solar rechargeable wearable electronics

Vincent, Karen Elisabeth

PV in interplanetary space applications

Wang, Weichao

Cost trends in PV technology outside of China

Werner, Frank Thompson

Optics for photovoltaics

Yang, Chungman

Photovoltaic technologies (GaAs or maybe GaN)

Yang, Xingyu

power electronics for photovoltaic devices or system

Yu, Kuai

The Cost Trends in Chinese PV Technology

Zhang, Di

Reliability and degradation analysis of photovoltaics

Zhou, Ziqi

Photovoltaic application

 

 

 

Homework Assignments

Homework #1 Assignment, due Friday, 2/5/16: http://www.eng.auburn.edu/~deanron/PV2016_HW1.pdf

Homework #2 Assignment, due Friday 2/26/16: http://www.eng.auburn.edu/~deanron/PV2016_HW2.pdf

Homework #3 Assignment, due Friday 3/25/16: http://www.eng.auburn.edu/~deanron/PV2016_HW3.pdf

Homework #4 Assignment, due Tuesday 3/29/16: http://www.eng.auburn.edu/~deanron/PV2016_HW4.pdf

 

 

Example Presentation

Example Conference Style Presentation: http://www.eng.auburn.edu/~deanron/example_presentation.pdf