AU Chemical Engineering Students Sweep 2012 Research Week

Elizabeth Lipke and Group Members

Left to Right: Petra Kerscher, Dr. Elizabeth Lipke, Dr. David Dunn, Wesley Grove, Alex Hodge

Undergraduate Research and Creative Scholarship Forum Award Recipients

Oral Presentations

1st – Wesley Grove: Constructing Zinc Finger Nucleases for the Production of Anti-arrhythmogenic Cardiomyocytes

2nd – James Kaczmarek: Controlled Release of a Hydrophobic Anti-Inflammatory from a Silicone Hydrogel Contact Lens


Stephen Giles came in 4th place for his poster.

Winners from the Graduate Scholars Symposium

Oral Presentations

1st – Alexander Hodge, Chemical Engineering: Directing the maturation of stem cell-derived cardiomyocytes using soluble nitric oxide donors

2nd – Hema Ramsurn, Chemical Engineering: Biocrude production by acidic-subcritical followed by alkaline-supercritical-water two-step liquefaction

3rd (tied) – Ying Zhu, Chemical Engineering: In-situ electrochemical characterization of solid oxide fuel cells at loads


1st – Petra Kerscher: The effect of nitric oxide on endothelial progenitor cell proliferation

2nd – Min Kim: Pseudo-continuous fermentation – An effective way to study the dynamics of co-culture systems

3rd – Shaima Nahreen: Conversion of Biobutanol to unsaturated higher hydrocarbons by catalytic dehydration

3rd (tied) – Charlotte Stewart: Synthesis of higher alcohols from syngas over a K-promoted Cu-Co-Zn catalyst in supercritical hexane

3rd (tied) – Arianna Tieppo: Controlled in vivo release from daily disposable contact lenses

Last Updated: Apr 23, 2012