Professional Awards


Call for Papers

Conference Dates

Abstract Submission

Visa Information




Conference Sponsors

Technical Tours

Conference Personnel

Professional Awards

Student Awards

Student Travel Grants

Presenter Instructions

Author Instructions

Job Placement Center

Short Courses

Technical Program

Santa Fe Visitor Info

Conference History


IPMC 2008


Call for Nominations
2014 IPMHVC Professional Awards

The 2014 IEEE International Power Modulator and High Voltage Conference (2014 IPMHVC) will present three professional awards during the conference. Ideally we expect the recipient to be present at the conference to be recognized and receive the award. These awards are The Kenneth J. Germeshausen Award, The William G. Dunbar Award, and The Sol Schneider Award. Description of each award is given below.

The nomination package for all three awards includes:

  • A letter of nomination including a description of the nominee's accomplishments approriate for the award and the nominatorís credential (not to exceed 2 typed pages);
  • Current curriculum vitae (traditional) and a short narrative bio (no longer than 500 words) of the nominee;
  • At least two letters of reference from colleagues who are familiar with the nominee's accomplishments and contributions.

Award recipients will receive a plaque stating the award, a monetary award of $1,000, and recognition at the conference banquet.

Please submit nomination packages no later than March 01, 2014, March 10, 2014 to the Professional Awards Chair, Dr. Werner Hartmann, at

Nomination Deadline is Extended to March 10, 2014

The Kenneth J. Germeshausen Award:

The Germeshausen Award was established in 1990, at the 19th Power Modulator Symposium. It is named after Kenneth J. Germeshausen, in honor of his pioneering work on power modulators for radar, and for innovation leading to high voltage thyratrons, and for his technical leadership in the field of power modulator technology. The award recognizes outstanding contributions in the science and technology of power modulators and related repetitive pulse power.

Previous Recipients:

  • 2012 Werner Hartmann, Siemens AG Corporate Technology, Erlangen, Germany
  • 2010 Richard L. Cassel, Stangenes Industries, Palo Alto, CA, USA
  • 2008 Hidenori Akiyama, Kumamoto University, Kumamoto, Japan
  • 2006 William C. Nunnally, University of Missouri, Columbia, MO, USA
  • 2004 Klaus Frank, University of Erlangen, Nuremberg, Germany
  • 2004 Nicholas Reinhardt, Diversified Technologies, Inc., Medford, MA, USA
  • 2002 Ken Witham, Siemens Medical Solutions, Inc., Concord, CA, USA
  • 2002 James O'Loughlin, Air Force Research Laboratory, Kirtland AFB, NM, USA
  • 2000 Martin A. Gundersen, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA, USA
  • 2000 Malcolm Buttram, Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, NM, USA

The William G. Dunbar Award:

The William G. Dunbar Award was first established at the 1982 High Voltage Workshop as the "High Voltage Award", and was renamed in 2002 to commemorate William G. Dunbar's lifetime of contributions to high voltage technology and his leadership in the High Voltage Workshops. The Dunbar Award is intended to recognize individuals for continuing contributions to high voltage research, development, or testing technology and for transferring that technology to the engineering and scientific community.

Previous Recipients:

  • 2012 Tangali Sudarshan, University of South Carolina, Columbia, SC, USA
  • 2010 Andreas Neuber, Texas Tech University, Lubbock, TX, USA
  • 2008 Stuart Moran, Naval Surface Weapons Center, Dahlgren, VA, USA
  • 2006 Art Brockschmidt, The Boeing Company, Seattle, WA, USA
  • 2004 Dan M. Goebel, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, CA, USA
  • 2004 Walter J. (Jim) Sargent, University of Buffalo, Buffalo, NY, USA
  • 2002 Lawrence Walko, AF Research Lab., Wright-Patterson AFB, Dayton, OH, USA
  • 2002 Carl I. Belnap, Design Criteria, Inc., Hudson, NH, USA
  • 2000 Karl Schoenbach, Old Dominion University, Norfolk, VA, USA

The Sol Schneider Award:

The Sol Schneider Award was established in 2004 as the Conference Service Award to recognize extensive service, contributions, and leadership, both technically and administratively, in the power modulator and/or high voltage field. The award recognizes both continuing contributions to research, development, and test technology, as well as the dedication to the advancement of the field through fostering the power modulator and high voltage community.

Previous Recipients:

  • 2012 Robert Barker, Air Force Office of Scientific Research, Arlington, VA, USA
  • 2010 Hulya Kirkici, Auburn University, Auburn, AL, USA
  • 2010 Martin Gundersen, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA, USA
  • 2008 Daniel L. Schweickart, AF Research Laboratory, Wright-Patterson AFB, Dayton, OH, USA
  • 2006 A. Scott Gilmour, Jr., Emeritus Professor, University of Buffalo, Buffalo, NY, USA
  • 2004 Sol Schneider, Consultant, Red Bank, NJ, USA

Paper Submission Deadline
is June1, 2014

Paper Submission is now open

Other announcement will be posted on the website regularly, so please check back

Exhibitors and Sponsors

Gigawatt Booth Exhibitors:

Megawatt Booth Exhibitors:

Kilowatt Booth Exhibitors:

Watt Level Exhibitors:

AirTech Pub