LaMondia and Moore win Transportation Research Board’s international best paper award

Published: Sep 9, 2015 12:00:00 PM
Media Contact: Morgan Stashick,, 334-844-3591

Jeffrey LaMondia, assistant professor in Auburn University’s Department of Civil Engineering, and civil engineering senior Nathan Moore have been selected to receive the 2015 Fred Burggraf Award from the National Academies’ Transportation Research Board. One of the highest honors presented by TRB, the international award recognizes the year’s best research paper by researchers 35 years of age or under.

LaMondia and Moore will be honored for their paper, “Comparing Bicycle Level of Service Measures, Roadway Characteristics, and Perceived Bike Route Suitability,” at the 2016 TRB annual conference held in Washington, D.C., in January.

“I am beyond excited to receive this prestigious award, and am thankful for my department and the College of Engineering for supporting me in pursuing research and going after opportunities that I am passionate about,” LaMondia said.

The Burggraf Award was established in 1966 to stimulate and encourage young researchers to contribute to the advancement of knowledge in the field of transportation. The award was named in honor of Fred Burggraf, who served as TRB’s Executive Director from 1951 until his retirement in 1964.

TRB is one of six major divisions of the National Research Council — a private, nonprofit institution that is the principal operating agency of the National Academies in providing services to the government, public and scientific and engineering communities. The National Research Council is jointly administered by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering and the Institute of Medicine.