Timm named chair of national Transportation Research Board committee

Published: Dec 17, 2014 11:00:00 AM
Media Contact: Morgan Stashick, stashml@auburn.edu , 334-844-3591


David Timm, Brasfield & Gorrie professor in Auburn University’s Department of Civil Engineering, has been invited by the Transportation Research Board (TRB) Executive Committee to serve as chair of the TRB Committee on Flexible Pavement Design. This national-level committee examines flexible pavement theory and flexible pavement design and performance, as well as factors that influence the physical behavior, service life and economy of these pavements. The committee also focuses on the development of reliable design criteria, improved design models and design procedures. 

Timm will serve as chairman from April 2015 through April 2018. The TRB is a division of the National Research Council (NRC), a private, nonprofit institution that provides expertise in science and technology to the government, public and scientific and engineering communities. The NRC is jointly administered by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering and the Institute of Medicine.