Nelson named distinguished member by Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers

Published: Aug 27, 2013 2:00:00 PM
Media Contact: Morgan Stashick,, 334-844-3591


Victor Nelson, professor of Auburn University’s Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, has received the Distinguished Member Award from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Educational Society. Nelson is recognized for his leadership and service on the IEEE Education Society Board of Governors and as chair of the Constitution and By-Laws Committee, as well as for related professional contributions through publications, accreditation activities and as an associate editor. Nelson will receive the award at the 2013 Frontiers in Education Conference Awards Banquet to be held in Oklahoma City on Oct. 25. 

The Distinguished Member Award recognizes outstanding long-term service to the IEEE Education Society and significant contributions in an IEEE field of interest. Recipients must have been members of the Society for at least 10 years and are selected for their leadership quality, as well as innovative contributions, service, dedication and technical achievements in the field.

Nelson has served as an Auburn University faculty member since 1978. His primary research interests include embedded systems and computer-aided design, as well as testing of digital systems and application-specific integrated circuits. Nelson is past chair of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Curriculum Committee and coordinator of the department’s Graduate Program, and served one year as associate dean for assessment in the College of Engineering. Nelson’s accolades include co-winner of the 2005 Wireless Educator of the Year award from the Global Wireless Education Consortium for his role as one of the developers of the Wireless Engineering program at Auburn University — the first of its kind in the nation. In addition, he received the Birdsong Merit Teaching Award in 2000 and the Walker Merit Teaching Award in 2002 from the College of Engineering, and was named outstanding member of the graduate faculty in 2004.