AICHE chapter wins top student organization award

Published: Feb 27, 2009 7:21:00 AM
Media Contact: Sally Credille,, 334.844.3447

Bowman and Gouge

Award with president Gogue: Darryl Bowman, AICHE external vice president, with Auburn University President Jay Gogue

The Samuel Ginn College of Engineering's student chapter of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AICHE) has been recognized with Auburn University's 2008-2009 Student Organization of the Year award, given once a year by Auburn's Student Government Association (SGA). A banquet hosted by SGA was held on Sunday, Feb. 22, in the Student Center Ballroom, where the chapter received its award.

"It is exciting for our organization to be recognized by our peers on campus," said senior chemical engineering student and Auburn AICHE student chapter president Kevin Cullinan, who accepted the award for the organization along with Darryl Bowman, student chapter vice president. "We've been working to build the chapter for the future, as well as represent chemical engineering majors to Auburn's campus and the professional engineering community. On behalf of the chapter, we're thankful and grateful for the award."

Green Cullman and Bowman

Award with Dean Green: From left, AICHE president Kevin Cullinan with Dean of Students Johnny Green and AICHE external vice president Darryl Bowman at the SGA awards banquet held Sunday, Feb. 22, in the Student Center ballroom.

The 2008-2009 Auburn AICHE officers are Kevin Cullinan, president; Darryl Bowman, external vice president; Amar Tiwari, internal vice president; Jared Woytek, secretary; Nhut Huynh, treasurer; Kyle Taylor, fundraising chair; Davis Bradford, philanthropy chair; David Harris, social chair; Ashley Thompson, e-council representative; and Adam McKinnon, Webmaster.

"The chemical engineering AICHE student members and officers have worked diligently for a number of years with an impressive list of accomplishments," said Chris Roberts, Uthlaut Professor and chair of the Department of Chemical Engineering. "All the students and officers involved with this organization for the last couple of years, as well as their faculty advisors, Dr. Steve Duke, Dr. Bob Ashurst and Dr. Mark Byrne, deserve this wonderful recognition."

Other university award winners included Dale Coleman, animal science faculty member and Omicron Delta Kappa adviser, for Adviser of the Year; Stephanie Postell of the Auburn University Rowing Club for Member of the Year; and Anne-marie Hodge, Society for Conservation Biology, as President of the Year.

AICHE is the world's leading organization for chemical engineering professionals, with more than 40,000 members from 93 countries. There are over 160 student chapters across the country.