Auburn innovator named to Paper Industry International Hall of Fame

Published: Oct 9, 2007 2:13:09 PM
Media Contact: ,,

Harry T. Cullinan

Harry Cullinan

Harry T. Cullinan, professor in the Department of Chemical Engineering and director of the Alabama Center for Paper and Bioresource Engineering, has been named to the Paper Industry International Hall of Fame. Cullinan will be recognized during a ceremony on Thursday, October 18 in Appleton, Wisc. He is one of six paper industry innovators who were chosen for this year's induction class, bringing the membership roster to 82.

"This is a significant honor not only for me, but for Auburn University as well," said Cullinan. "It is important that Auburn and its researchers are being recognized as world leaders in the pulp and paper industry."

Cullinan, who received his doctorate in chemical engineering from the Carnegie Institute of Technology, is founder and president of the Pulp and Paper Education and Research Alliance (PPERA), and founder of the National Network for Pulp and Paper Technology Training. He established the sensor technology unit to commercialize real time chemical near-infrared analysis of pulp and paper process streams, with 12 mill installations now in place. He formed the Wood Fiber Initiative in Science and Engineering (WISE) with the Forest Products Laboratory and PPERA to use underutilized residuals in the nation's forests for bio-refining.

He also contributed to the establishment of Agenda 2020, which was initiated with the Department of Energy to improve energy efficiency and develop new technologies. With nearly 70 publications to his name, he has been honored as a Technical Association of the Pulp and Paper Industry (TAPPI) Fellow and has also received the TAPPI Herman L. Joachim Distinguished Service award. For these contributions to the paper industry, Cullinan is being inducted into the hall of fame under the categories of academic, research & development, and leadership.

"I started my career in Appleton years ago, so it is thrilling to go back to Wisconsin to receive this award," Cullinan said. "It's like the Cooperstown of the paper industry."

Inductees joining Cullinan this year include Kari Ebeling, retired professor from the Helsinki University of Technology in Helsinki, Finland; Lothar Göttsching, retired professor at the Technische Universität Darmstadt in Darmstadt, Germany; George P. Mueller, retired president of Wisconsin Tissue Mills in Menasha, Wisc.; the late Curt G. Joa, founder and president of Curt G. Joa, Inc., in Sheboygan Falls, Wisc.; and the late György Vámos, founder and director of the Hungarian Paper and Cellulose Research Institute in Budapest, Hungary.