SME honors Johnson with TEEM award

Published: Mar 21, 2007 9:08:44 AM
Media Contact: ,,

Wayne JohnsonThe Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME) and its Electronics Manufacturing Tech Group recently honored Wayne Johnson, Ginn Professor of Electrical Engineering in the Samuel Ginn College of Engineering at Auburn University and director of the Laboratory for Electronics Assembly and Packaging (LEAP), with its prestigious 2007 Total Excellence in Electronics Manufacturing (TEEM) award. The award is given annually to an individual in recognition of extraordinary dedication and innovation in setting new or higher levels of achievement in electronics manufacturing.

"Professor Johnson is a leader in the area of electronics and advanced packaging, and manufacturing," says Alok Sharan of Hewlett-Packard, 2007 TEEM Selection Committee Chairman. "He has made wide ranging contributions to the field of electronics manufacturing, specifically in areas such as lead free solder, flip chip assemblies, hybrid microelectronics and extreme environment electronics. His many years of contributions and leadership in these key areas made him an excellent choice for the 2007 TEEM award."

At Auburn, Johnson has established teaching and research laboratories for advanced packaging and electronics manufacturing. His research efforts are focused on the materials, processing and reliability aspects of electronics manufacturing. Current projects include lead-free electronics assembly, mixed lead free and Sn/Pb electronics assembly, wafer level packaging, flip chip assembly, assembly of ultra thin Si die, and electronics packaging for extreme environments.

Johnson was the 1991 president of the International Society for Hybrid Microelectronics (ISHM). He received the 1993 John A. Wagnon, Jr. Technical Achievement Award from ISHM, was named a fellow of the society in 1994 and received the Daniel C. Hughes Memorial Award in 1997. He is a fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), and a member of the Surface Mount Technology Association and IPC (Association Connecting Electronics Industries). He is currently a member of the IEEE Components, Packaging and Manufacturing Technology Society Board of Governors. He is also editor-in-chief of the IEEE Transactions on Electronics Packaging Manufacturing.

Johnson has published 52 journal papers, 135 conference papers, six book chapters and co-edited one book on electronics packaging and electronics manufacturing.