Students honored at 2005-2006 awards dinner

Published: Apr 7, 2006 12:26:53 PM
Media Contact: ,,

The Department of Polymer and Fiber Engineering and the ATEF Foundation Board recently hosted the department's annual awards dinner at the Auburn University Hotel and Conference Center. Students honored for their accomplishments in 2005-2006 were as follows:


Polymer and Fiber Engineering graduate student Rosary Stephen was selected as one of two Outstanding Minority Graduate Students for the Samuel Ginn College of Engineering. A graduate of San Diego State University and resident of San Diego, Rosary is enrolled in the Integrated Textile and Apparel Science Master's program. Her research involves the investigation of enzymatic synthesis of dye molecules and coloration of various polymeric materials via enzymes.

- The Phi Psi Freshman Scholarship Award for the highest GPA during freshman year was presented to Karon Dunnam, freshman from Camden, Ala.

- The AATCC James C. Farrow Academic Award for Outstanding Sophomore, awarded to the textile chemistry major with the highest GPA during the sophomore year, was presented to James Waldrup, junior from Opp, Ala.

- The American Association of Textile Chemists and Colorists Student Award, given to a graduating senior who has excelled in the study of fiber chemistry throughout his or her college career, was presented to Rebecca Anthony, fiber engineering major from Rome, Ga.

2006 Out Alum Mullins

Polymer and Fiber Outstanding Alumnus for 2006 is Greg Mullins, director of pre-dyed manufacturing for Shaw Industries in Dalton, Ga. His responsibilities have included management with Avondale Mills, plant manager with Avondale and Shaw Industries, group director of yarn manufacturing with Shaw and director of manufacturing for Carpets International, a subsidiary of Shaw in Bradford, England. He is past president and board member of Stevenson Federal Credit Union and president of Scottsboro/Jackson County Chamber of Commerce. He is a past officer and board member with Alabama Textile Manufacturing Association and Alabama Textile Education Foundation.

- The Christopher B. Terry Service Award given to any student in the Department of Polymer and Fiber Engineering, regardless of major, class or grade point average, who exemplifies a positive attitude, helpful nature and enthusiasm for his or her chosen career, presented to Rebecca Anthony. This is the only award voted on by faculty, staff and students.

- The 2006 Textile Operating Executives Award, given to a senior who has shown outstanding leadership ability, service and cooperation with others in the Polymer and Fiber Engineering Department, was presented to Will Gilford, senior textile management and technology major from Enterprise, Ala., and John Williams, senior fiber engineering major from Arley, Ala.

- The Chattahoochee Valley Phi Psi Alumni Award, presented to a senior for high scholastic achievement and leadership potential, was presented to Erin Pugh, senior fiber engineering major from Sylacauga, Ala., and Clint Tranum, fiber engineering major from Luverne, Ala.

2006 Out Fac

The Outstanding Faculty Member for 2006, chosen by vote of our students, was Dr. Gisela Buschle-Diller, who teaches chemistry and environmental courses in the department. Dr. Buschle-Diller is on the advisory board of the Biggio Center for teaching support at AU and is also founder and faculty sponsor of the polymer and fiber student exchange program with Reutlingen University in Reutlingen, Germany.

- The Phi Psi Senior Honor Award, presented to a senior based on scholarship, leadership, integrity and personality, went to Katie Hudson, senior fiber engineering major from Muscle Shoals, Ala.

- The Outstanding Textile Senior Award, based on scholarship, leadership, initiative, integrity, congeniality, and service to the department, was presented to Rebecca Anthony.

- Each year the Student Engineer of the Year is awarded to a junior or senior who has excelled in the study of fibers throughout his or her college career. The recipient is nominated for the College of Engineering Student Engineer of the Year and is honored at the College of Engineering awards reception. The 2005-2006 Student Engineer of the Year was Daniel Murphree, a senior in fiber engineering from Oneonta, Ala.

2006 Out Stud Murphree

Student Engineer of the Year for 2005-2006 was Daniel Murphree, graduating senior in fiber engineering from Oneonta, Ala.